Drunk Driving Stats You Should Be Aware of This 4th of July Weekend

Drunk Driving Stats You Should Be Aware of This 4th of July Weekend

There are approximately 26,298 serious or fatal vehicle accidents in Texas every year caused by drunk drivers, and this equates to three accidents every hour. Those who decide to operate a vehicle while intoxicated not only place themselves in danger, but also every person they’re sharing the road with.

Facts about Drunk Driving

The Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility gathers dozens of facts about alcohol consumption every year so that trends can be observed. A few of the facts relating to drunk driving in the state of Texas:

  • The number of people killed in drunk driving accidents was 1,296
  • There are five fatalities due to drunk driving for every 100,000 people
  • 2.1 of all fatal accidents involved individuals under the age of 21
  • 71.9% of fatal crashes involved drivers with a blood alcohol content over .15
  • Over 50% of fatal crashes involving a driver with a blood alcohol content over .15 were repeat offenders

The good news is that the number of fatal accidents caused by drunk drivers has decreased by 26.2 per 100,000 people over the past 10 years.

DWI Fine Amounts

The US has some of the strictest laws when it comes to drunk driving, and Texas laws meet or exceed what is already in place at the federal level. This desire to cut down on the number of drunk drivers has led to punishments that become more severe as the number of offenses rise.

  • First Offense – Drivers face fines up to $2,000, the loss of their driving privileges for a year, and up to 180 days in jail
  • Second Offense – Drivers face fines up to $4,000, loss of their driver’s license for up to two years and up to a year in jail
  • Third Offense – Drivers face fines up to $10,000, another two year loss of driving privileges and 2-10 years in a state prison

Severe Penalties for Driving Drunk

The circumstances that surround the drunk driving case also have the potential to make the judgments more severe. Of these, none often receives more strict punishment than when a drunk driver has a child in their vehicle, as this often brings a coinciding charge of child endangerment. Even if this is the driver’s first offense it can result in fines of $10,000, suspension of the driver’s license for 180 days, and up to two years in a state prison.

Get Justice for DWI Accidents

Let’s face it. There are a lot of people who drink and drive. As a result, many innocent people are injured or killed due to foolish mistakes. Those affected by drunk driving accidents are entitled to justice. Schedule your free case review today by calling 713.766.5400.

*Image courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

child injury guide